Mp3 Album: Victor Alcántara Trio – Reflections on Mirror Symmetry




Victor Alcántara – Piano
Henning Sieverts – Bass
Bastian Jütte – Drums

Sheet music: click here

The compositions and improvisations in this recording are dedicated to a phenomenon that not only determines the human appearance, but also the construction of the piano keyboard: mirror symmetry. The central white key D functions as a topographic mirror axis, so that both hands can simultaneously perform identical but mirrored movements.
This ordering principle shapes the individual pieces in different ways and to different degrees. For example, the improvisation in Auto Reverse is characterized by synchronously mirrored single lines, while in Girih’s theme almost every second bar is the reflection of the previous one. Palindromorphy represents the music-theoretical concept. Here, mirror symmetry serves to expand the spectrum of artistic expression. If it becomes an end in itself, what it is about is lost: music.

In the case of download products, a download link is provided in the purchase confirmation email. Alternatively, you can access your digital goods on the shop page via “my account”. You can download your digital product twice (2x), then the link will expire.


01 Girih

02 Auto Reverse

03 The Lady of Shalott

04 Gabriel

05 Reverberations

06 Reminiscences

07 Partagás

08 Cymatic

09 Stratosphere

10 Gogh